Finding a Niche

I was looking back through my last few blogs and I realized something today: they are ALL about food. Seriously, the last 10 blogs are completely food inspired! Coconut oil, protein pancakes, vacation foods, etc. It made me think. I read an article recently that said if you want to be a successful blogger (or a successful booger in which I accidentally just typed then fixed), then you have to find your niche. It said blog, blog, and blog some more until you find what it is that you truly love to blog about. From there, fine tune your blog, your skills, etc., and start becoming a successful blogger. Or booger.

Thing is, there’s so much I love writing about. I love fitness. I love being in the gym for hours. I love that my arms hurt so bad right now that it’s hard to type. Or spell anything correctly. I also love training people. I love working with people and pushing both guys and girls to their max. Come to a kettlebell class one time and dare me to push you harder than you’ve worked before. I love Les Mills group fitness–bodyCOMBAT and bodyFLOW to be exact. I love being incredibly cheesy on a stage and entertaining people for an hour or more per day. In fact, some days I think I’d like to make my living entertaining others through fitness. I also love obstacle races, being outdoors, push up contests, and pretending that I’m not checking out my arms and shoulders whenever I walk by a mirror. (I’m also not sure whether to be proud or embarrassed that I just admitted that.)

But when it comes down to me sitting at my computer after a long day, the only thing I find myself wanting to write about is food. I’m dying to tell you the latest bit of research I read about carb intake. I can’t wait to show you a new food item that I tried, and I can’t stand it when I have a new recipe that I haven’t told the world about yet. I love low carb foods and “smart” carb foods, protein rich meals and good for you fats. I love trying to avoid desserts–and writing about it–and then giving in–and writing about it. I love that I just found a plan that lets you eat high carb desserts while getting lean, and it’s driving me crazy that I haven’t really blogged about it yet. I love high protein recipes and I love eating out. I love wine and locally brewed beers, and I love get-togethers based around those same noshes. I love taking pictures of food I eat, food I cook, food I order, or food made for me. I have an extraordinary fascination for how each and every person’s body responds to certain types of food and how that food works for that body and how that body looks because of food. I really am obsessed.

But is this what the public wants to hear? Is what I love writing about enough to satisfy my reader? Should I add more workout ideas? More recipes? Lifting and food plans for women? Or should I keep blogging about my constant food experiments, challenges, successes and failures? You tell me. Is it time to re-vamp this goFigure blog or keep on keepin’ on? What do you want to hear about, Readers? Are you satisfied? Or are you hungry for more?

Leave a comment